My View by Sandra

and other stuff . . .

Acer Aspire One – GREAT price $268.99!

$167 OFF! Acer Aspire One Intel Atom 160GB Notebook Linux (Sapphire Blue) NOW Only $268.99 (was $435.99) + FREE Printer after rebate

Acer Aspire OneI first saw these on HSC for $499 without tax and shipping. I was getting ready to go on my cruise and thought it’d be easier to lug around than my 17″ MacBook Pro. Plus I’d be less worried about it.
I paid a lot more for the eggshell-colored one I got. It’s not only easy to use, it’s so cute (this is Grandma Geek talking). I’ve included the specs below but will just tell the things I love about it.

  • I can carry it in my purse
  • It has xp
  • It doesn’t weigh much and is small
  • It has memory card reader slots
  • Three usb slots
  • A webcam
  • A 160 gig hard drive. You can get them with a 120 gig hard drive at Staples, Sam’s Club and others, but they cost more than this one.
  • One gig memory.It’s my little travel computer, I don’t need more.
  • It has a 3 cell battery
  • Trackpad isn’t hard to use although I bought a nice wireless mouse to use with it.
  • If you want to make new friends and you’re using it in public, you will get people to stop and ask about it.
  • It does have an internet network card so it’s easy to log on anyplace there is a server
  • It’s cute.

I even use it at home. I can keep it open on my kitchen counter and do little things instead of going to the bigger computers.

The one thing it doesn’t have is an optical reader/writer. No problem, I use a flash drive or an external hard drive to load programs and if it’s on the ‘net, then I just download it from there.
If you want to check out the Acer with the larger battery capacity, click on this link!

$39 OFF! Acer Aspire One Intel Atom 160GB XP Home Edition (Sapphire Blue) NOW Only $369.99 (was $435.99) + FREE Printer after rebate

January 16, 2009 - Posted by | Favorite Sites, Information, Shopping

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve had the Aspire one netbook for a few weeks now and I am pleased with it. I only use it for fun, not work. I got the one with Windows XP, 1 meg ram and 160 meg HD. It was really frustrating getting the wireless connection worked out but don’t give up. It comes with way too much junk pre installed and pre starting. Dump McAfee and get Trend or one of the other less resource hungry protection. I could have bought a lap top this week with same HD, more Ram and Vista for the same money. If you need the small size, its great. If you’re used to Vista or speed, get a laptop. http://www.aspireoneuser.com is a great resource for this item

    Comment by madeaw | January 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Acer Aspire One Sapphire Blue
    Spectacular! Super Pleased!
    I was worried about getting one as I have had a 12″ laptop and was not happy with screen size. But this screen is SO bright it does not even become a issue, not to mention the 1064×600 really makes it seem bigger!

    Another bonus, this baby runs 7.5 to 8 hours due to the 5800Amh 6 cell battery! Sweet. Very happy with that. I heard most were shipping with the 4400Amh 6 cell which gives your 5-6 hours. I can run this all day or two before recharge, very nice! I have to keep looking at battery indicator in dis-belief that the battery is still 75% or 50%, it just lasts forever!

    This is super portable obviously, and really how laptops SHOULD be. You can put on one leg, it doesn’t weigh you down when actually sitting in your lap which is nice. I have had many laptops over the years, screen sizes and this one wins hands down for price, and performance. The unit is strong heavy duty case, compared to some newer thin plastic laptops.

    Comment by Acer | November 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment